oxford, Maine

District Attorney's Office

          Oxford County DA takes on domestic violence

Oxford County is part of Prosecutorial District Three, which also includes Androscoggin and Franklin counties. District Attorney Norman R. Croteau was first elected in 1994 to a four-year term. He has served two terms as president of the Maine Prosecutors Association, which represents the state's eight district attorneys and their staffs and the Attorney General's Office.

The Oxford County District Attorney's Office is staffed full-time by Assistant District Attorneys Joseph M. O'Connor (since 1990) and Richard R. Beauchesne (since 1998). District Attorney Croteau, as well as attorneys from other district offices, are also available for grand jury, superior and district court trial sessions and as otherwise needed.

The office has three paralegal-secretaries: Rosemary Reese (since 1980), Lisa Mack (since 2007) and Suzanna Gallant, who began work in May, 2013. Our new victim-witness advocate as of May, 2013 is Jamie Hastings, who replaced retiring advocate Kaye McDonnell, who had been with the office since 1993. Cathy Ring is the senior VWA.

A partial listing of the DA's duties includes:

  • Review police reports and prepare complaints in all criminal cases in three district courts.
  • Prepare indictments and present to the grand jury.
  • Trials in district and superior court.
  • Pre-trial litigation.
  • Appeals to the Maine Supreme Judicial Court
  • Asisting police in preparation of search and arrest warrants.
  • Prosecuting drug forfeitures.
  • Provide training to law enforcement officers.
  • Provide legal advice and in some cases legal representation to the Oxford County Commissioners.

Additionally, the Oxford County District Attorney's Office prosecutes criminal cases for the following law enforcement agencies: Maine State Police, Oxford County Sheriff’s Department, Maine Warden Service, Maine Fire Marshal, Maine Drug Enforcement Agency, Maine Forest Service, Bureau of Liquor Enforcement, Dept. of Probation & Parole (including juvenile caseworkers) and municipal police departments in Dixfield, Mexico, Rumford, Norway, South Paris, Oxford and Fryeburg.

The office is located in the county complex at 26 Western Avenue in South Paris.
The telephone number is 743-8282. Fax: 743-1511.